top of page


 After the Marjory Stoneman Douglas tragedy in Parkland, Florida on February 14th, 2018, the Florida legislature quickly passed the most comprehensive school safety act, the MSD School Safety Act. The MSD School Safety Act requires each Florida School District to assign a School Safety Specialist, an administrator to oversee and implement a myriad of protocols, measures, upgrades, training, and policies to enhance the safety and security of our schools.  These passionate and dedicated men and women are committed to ensuring schools are safe, and build teams to manage threats and challenges such as mental health, natural disasters, and emergencies.

Florida Superintendents identify School Safety as their number one priority and area of emphasis. Because of this, Florida Association of District School Superintendents (FADSS) CEO Senator Bill Montford spearheaded the formation of FS3 in early 2023, to highlight the importance to build a community for these essential individuals, Florida's School Safety Specialists.

At FS3, we believe that every student deserves to learn in a safe and secure environment. Our Association is committed to providing the necessary resources, training, and support to School Safety Specialists across the state, so they can effectively carry out their essential role in protecting our schools. We believe that by working together, we can create a safer and more resilient future for our schools and our communities.


Daniel Hahn - Santa Rosa.jpg

Statewide Training Director

Santa Rosa County

Kelly - FS3.png

Mental Health and District Threat Management Director

Seminole County

Charlie Morse - FS3.png

Region 1 Director

Walton County

(Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Okaloosa,

Santa Rosa, Taylor, Wakulla, Walton, Washington)

Dennis McFatten - Marion.jpg

Region 3 Director

Marion County

(Brevard, Citrus, Glades, Hendry, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lake, Manatee, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Sumter)

David Crawford - Baker County.jpg

Region 2 Director

Baker County

(Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Nassau, Putnam, St. Johns, Suwannee, Union)

Vanessa Snow - FS3.png

Region 4 Director

Palm Beach County

(Broward, Charlotte, Collier, Miami-Dade, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Martin, Monroe, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, 

St. Lucie, Sarasota)

Board of Directors

Diane Kornegay, Superintendent – Lake County

Dr. Jose Dotres, Superintendent – Miami-Dade County

Kurt Browning, Superintendent – Pasco County

Tim Forson, Superintendent – St. Johns County

Rick Shirley, Superintendent – Sumter County

Russell Hughes, Superintendent – Walton County

bottom of page